Lauren’s Bridal Shower

Bridal Shower Cake by OinK

 

 

My best friend is getting married SO soon! As in, one week from today!!  I can’t believe the day is finally this close and I’m so excited to celebrate with her!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I worked with her wonderful mother to give her the best shower we could, starting with these invitations:

Bridal Shower Invites by WPD

I took responsibility for the cake because, well, obviously.  It would make sense that the girl with the food blog would volunteer to bring a cake.  I wanted to do the cake in her wedding colors (coral and turquoise) and did my best using what I had with my Americolor gels.  I knew I wanted to do Sweetapolita’s swirl cake technique since I did it for the gender reveal cake I recently posted.  I think it turned out pretty well, and the bride was happy (and that’s all that really matters right?) Bridal Shower Cake by OinK Bridal Shower Cake by OinK

To get the coral color in the cake batter, I used 6 drops of Deep Pink and 5 drops of Lemon Yellow.  I did the icing in 2 shades of turquoise and one of coral.  For the blues I used 2 drops of Sky Blue for the bottom blue and 1 drop of Sky Blue for the middle section.  I did the crumb coat in white so it didn’t show through the outer layer.

Bridal Shower Cake by OinKBridal Shower Cake by OinKBridal Shower Cake by OinKBridal Shower Cake by OinK
Bridal Shower Cake by OinKBridal Shower Cake by OinK

I used Sweetapolita’s recipe for Fluffy Vanilla Cake with Whipped Vanilla Bean Frosting because I wanted a reliable recipe and Sweetapolita is always reliable.  I followed her video tutorial (linked above) for the swirl technique.

Bridal Shower Cake by OinK

Bridal Shower Cake by OinK

I got that precious cake topper from Etsy.

I also made some blue velvet cupcakes to shape into a wedding dress, but I used a boxed cake mix for that because I had a hectic week and I knew I couldn’t possibly make a cake AND cupcakes from scratch.

Bridal Shower Cupcakes by OinK Bridal Shower Cupcakes by OinK

 

I also got some of the decorations: the poms and signage were from Etsy and I adored them.  Below are some pictures of the festivities!!

Bridal Shower Decor by OinKBridal Shower Decor by OinKBridal Shower Decor by OinK Bridal Shower Decor by OinKBridal Shower Decor by OinKBridal Shower Decor by OinK

Weigh in as the Jury