Andouille Chicken Sausage with Leeks and Polenta

Andouille Chicken Sausage with Leeks and Polenta

So remember how I bought a whole bunch of chicken sausage because I had a billion coupons? Well don’t worry I’m putting them to work! I also just got an awesome deal on a panini press because I had a gift card to Williams-Sonoma (aka my favorite store ever). So I went with the Cuisinart one because the reviews were fantastic and it was cheaper than the Breville (which I had used during my stint at WS and loved!)

So this recipe came about because I had a ton of chicken sausage left and thought I’d try something in the comfort food realm. I think this would work with any kind of chicken sausage (or any kind of sausage really) but I found the andouille to be a great flavor to really contrast with the Parmesan polenta and leeks.

The Elements:
1 cup polenta cornmeal
1 cup Parmesan
3 TBS butter
Salt and pepper
3-4 leeks
Olive oil
4 andouille chicken sausages

1013150

Procedure:
I started by putting 4 cups of water on to boil in preparation for the polenta
Then I took the leeks and rinsed them good (they can be sandy so make sure you clean them good!) then I sliced off the green parts and sliced them up fairly thin (see pictures below)3056574_orig 40366163421247_orig

Turn heat on to medium-low and drizzle some olive oil into the already warm sauté pan. Sauté for approximately 20-25 minutes.
5393912_origAt this point the water should be boiling. Add in the cornmeal slowly, whisking simultaneously to avoid scorching on the bottom. Salt and pepper to taste. Reduce heat to simmer and simmer for 25 minutes.

Turn your grill on to high. When approximately 10 minutes remain on the polenta and leeks, put the chicken sausage on the grill and close the lid on top of the sausages. At this point the grill should already be very hot. I cooked the sausage for 10 minutes on high, then turned it to “sear” to get a little extra char.Andouille Chicken Sausage with Leeks and Polenta

When polenta has simmered for 20 minutes, add in the butter and cheese. Stir to incorporate.

To assemble the plates, take approximately one cup of the cooked polenta and spoon onto a plate. Add a couple scoops of the leeks on top of that. Then take one of the sausages and place on top, like so:

Andouille Chicken Sausage with Leeks and Polenta

The Verdict:
Love this recipe! So easy to make and delicious. Matt loved it. I especially liked the fact that we could pack them up and eat them for another couple meals. This makes the perfect amount for 4 meals (maybe more..there was a lot of polenta!) you could probably even make this same meal with 6 sausages and another leek or two. I highly recommend this dish AND this panini maker!!Andouille Chicken Sausage with Leeks and Polenta

Weigh in as the Jury

