Egg & Ham Cups

Egg & Ham Cups by OinK

Just a quick post for tonight since I have been insanely busy at work and my whole world feels like a whirlwind BUT that’s not really a good excuse to not keep updating for my readers! I posted these little egg cups on instagram ages ago and promised the recipe. So here you go! I got the idea from pinterest (duh where else?). I basically just used what I had around and I think you should do the same. Don’t feel constrained by recipes! Use them as a guide :)

 

The Elements:
6-8 pieces of ham
6-7 eggs (I even had enough egg left over to make myself an omelet while these bad boys cooked in the oven)
About 1/2 cup chopped zucchini
1/2 cup onion sautéed
salt and pepper to taste
juice from 1/4 to 1/2 lemon
About 3 oz goat cheese
Chives (finely chopped for garnish)

Procedure:
Preheat oven to 400
Beat eggs in a bowl
Line a muffin tin with the pieces of ham (I ripped mine up and just layered them so that they lined the entire hole, even around the sides…you can see it coming up the sides)
Saute zucchini and onion for about 10 minutes over medium heat, then add the lemon juice and salt and pepper
Into the bowl with the eggs, add in sautéed zucchini and onion and then the goat cheese
Pour egg mixture into ham cups then top with a sprinkle of fresh chives

Bake in oven for 20 minutes
Allow to cool a bit before eating (can eat them warm, room temperature, or even right out of the fridge!)

The Verdict:
Super super easy and a great way to have a couple days worth of breakfast for the whole family already made ahead of time!  Like I said above though, make it with whatever you have around!  Any fresh produce you have would be great… tomatoes, spinach, mushrooms etc.!  Be creative!

P.S.  Thank you everyone for sticking with my through this crazy time in my life!  It’s good to be busy, for sure, and I love it… but I do feel bad leaving y’all out to dry!  Thank YOU!

Weigh in as the Jury

