Certified Steak and Seafood: Review and Giveaway

Surf & Turf

Hey everyone!  Thanks for bearing with me on my hiatus lately, I’ve had a LOT happening and have barely had a chance to come up for air.  Anyway, I HAD to make time to make this post because I have something awesome to share with you guys… a giveaway!

The lovely folks at Certified Steak and Seafood sent me a gift certificate so that I could try some of their amazing product, and they are doing the same for one lucky Order in the Kitchen reader!The winner will get a $50 gift certificate to use in the online store!  Keep reading to see how the product comes, what it looks like and how YOU can win!I took a whole bunch of pictures from beginning to end (well not totally the end… I didn’t capture our empty plates because the food was SO good!)

Surf & TurfSurf & TurfSurf & TurfSurf & TurfI decided to boil the lobster tails (although there are practically endless ways to cook lobster tails).  I boiled them in salted water for one minute per ounce (these were 6 ounces, so about 6 minutes).  I then just served them with some butter (about half a stick, melted in a pan) with shallots and chives (about a tablespoon of each).  I spooned the white part of the butter off of the top, so I was left with mostly clarified butter.

Surf & Turf

For the filets I simply seared them in my All Clad pan for approximately 8-10 minutes on each side on Medium-High Heat, to get a good medium temperature.  You can cook it to whatever temperature you prefer, just be sure to let it rest for about 10 minutes!  While it was resting, I added a small diced shallot, and about 2-3 oz of sliced mushrooms to the pan that I had cooked the steak in.  After a few minutes I added 1/4 cup of red wine (I used Chianti but a Syrah would be lovely as well) to deglaze the pan. After reducing the mixture until the meat is done resting, I simply spooned it over the filet.  Simple and lovely!

4197300Surf & Turf Surf & TurfThe Verdict:  Trust me, you WANT to win this giveaway.  This filet was one of the most tender delicious meats I had ever eaten.  I cooked it simply so that I could get as much of the natural flavor as possible, and I’m happy I did because it was so tasty.  The lobster tails were equally delicious, and HUGE!  Like enormous.  I actually couldn’t even finish my entire filet and lobster tail because the portions were incredible.  You really get your money worth on this one.  Plus, Matt certainly didn’t complain that I had leftovers because he got to eat this magnificent meal twice.  They also included a free gift with mine of a hamburger patty with 100% Angus.  For free.  Amazing, love this company and will definitely be using it in the future!  Now, do yourself a favor, and read how to enter the giveaway so you can try this stuff!  And if you don’t win, I would definitely still suggest actually purchasing through the website because it’s well worth the money (and their prices are actually very reasonable).

How to Enter the Giveaway!:

First (required) entry:  What would you like to order from Certified Steak?  A combo pack?  Filets?  NY Strip?  It’s up to you!  What would you do with it?

Extra Entries (leave a separate comment for each entry–if you have already done these things, just comment saying so):
Like Order in the Kitchen on Facebook
Follow Order in the Kitchen on Twitter
Like Certified Steak on Facebook
Follow Certified Steak on Twitter
Tweet the following:  “I just entered a giveaway from @orderinthekitch to win a $50 gift certificate to @certifiedsteak and you can too! http://tinyurl.com/6mw6a64”

Giveaway ends May 25th at 11:59 pm.  A winner will be chosen by a random number generator.  Duplicate comments will be deleted. Winner will have 48 hours to confirm or an alternate winner will be selected.  Please leave your real email address in order to be contacted!   While I did receive this product for free to review, the opinions and statements regarding the products are my own and I was not compensated for them.

UPDATE: This giveaway is now closed.  Congratulations to comment number 21, Michelle!  You won $50 to Certified Steak and Seafood!  YAY congrats!

Weigh in as the Jury

