Lobster Love … And the Winner is…

Lobster Cookies by OinK

 

We have a winner folks!  The lucky winner was Comment #50:

winner

Lobster Cookies by OinK

See?  Here’s the #… I used Random.org like I said I would in the giveaway post :)

Thank you so much to all who entered, and don’t forget, you can always go to SimplyLobsters.com and order some fresh Maine lobsters yourselves!  They have a huge variety, including just lobster tails so if you aren’t quite comfortable just yet with killing one yourself, you can still enjoy lobster AND take baby steps!  They also have specials so make sure to check their website!

So I made some cookies to celebrate the giveaway ending!  I used Sweetapolita’s perfect sugar cookie recipe… it IS perfect and I suggest you use it, like I did for my holiday cookies.  It is so great, I can’t stop talking about it…and everything else she does because, let’s face it, she’s so incredible I can’t believe she’s a real person.  I got some extra help from Bridget at Bake at 350 and Callye of The Sweet Adventures of Sugarbelle.  They gave me some last minute tips on using Royal Icing and I am so grateful!  I’m planning on continuing the Lobster theme for Valentine’s Day and make these instead of hearts.  I’m also planning to send a dozen or so to Don from Simply Lobsters for being so gracious to host this giveaway, I definitely couldn’t have done it without him!  (But shhh don’t tell him there are cookies coming!)

Below, I’ll just give you a few photos and such, since the recipes aren’t really mine :)

Lobster Cookies by OinKLobster Cookies by OinKLobster Cookies by OinK

I couldn’t have done these lobster cookies (or anything else colorful for that matter without Americolor gels… they are amazing!  Just a small amount and it totally saturates the icing (or whatever it is you are dyeing).  As you can see in the middle photo it wasn’t quite red enough for lobsters but that was only one squirt of the bottle!  To the right you can se how intense that color gets!  LOVE!

Below you can see the lobster sugar cookies before they get all iced up!

Lobster Cookies by OinK

 

 

All you need is some sugar cookie dough and some cookie cutters. Use the colored royal icing to outline and flood the sugar cookies… then let them dry to harden.  Store in an airtight container and they should last a couple of weeks!

Lobster Cookies by OinK

Weigh in as the Jury

