Quick Weeknight (Bun-less) Turkey Burgers

Quick Weeknight (Bun-less) Turkey Burgers

Wow.  I’m astonished how long it has been since I have posted.  I have been so insanely busy that I barely have time to breathe, let alone cook and then BLOG about it.  Sometimes I just don’t have the energy but usually it’s more just because I’m not even at my computer.  So usually on days like that I just want to be able to come home and whip up something fast and simple.  I have made these turkey burgers about 4-5 times and I love them every time.  I started making them as a healthy alternative to a beef burger and also decided to make them sans bun!  I really like them and I think you will too!  So make some for yourself on a busy weeknight or even on a relaxed Sunday, but let me know how you like them!

Quick Weeknight (Bun-less) Turkey BurgersThe Elements:
1/2 lb. ground turkey (I prefer using white meat but you can get whatever is available, I’ve made it both ways)
1 tbsp. worchestire sauce
1 very small shallot or about 1/2 normal shallot, diced finely
1/2 tsp. dried garlic
1 tbsp. Italian breadcrumbs
1/2 avocado chopped
1/3 cup red onion
1 tomato
Juice from 1/4 of a lemon
Approximately 1/2 cup of alfalfa sprouts

Quick Weeknight (Bun-less) Turkey Burgers

Quick Weeknight (Bun-less) Turkey BurgersProcedure:
Place shallots in a medium sized mixing bowl
Add the ground turkey, breadcrumbs, garlic and worchestire sauce

Mix together with hands, ensuring that all ingredients mix well and then form two patties, even in size.

Heat stove to medium/medium-high and cook the turkey burgers on a grill pan for about 4 minutes on each side or until they reach desired doneness.While patties are cooking, prepare your plate and salsa topping.  I usually take the sprouts and make a little bed for the burger, or you could use bibb lettuce as I have done in the picture here.

Roughly chop the avocado and tomatoes, and dice the onions.

Quick Weeknight (Bun-less) Turkey Burgers

Mix the tomatoes, avocado, and onion in a bowl.
When all the vegetables are prepared and the burger is done, place the burger on top of the sprouts and then add the salsa on an around the burger.  Squeeze lemon juice on top.

Quick Weeknight (Bun-less) Turkey Burgers

The verdict:

So easy, fast and filling!  You can alter this recipe in so many ways.  You can add peppers, use yellow tomatoes instead of red (or even heirloom– I’ve done it with heirloom and it’s divine!)  Matt loves these burgers and he is a HUGE red-meat eater so I think that says something about these bad boys.  I would say, use whatever veggies you have that are fresh and ripe to make the tastiest salsa, and be creative!  Let me know how you like them and please forgive my lonnnng absence from the blog!  Thanks all!

Quick Weeknight (Bun-less) Turkey Burgers

Weigh in as the Jury

