Vegetable and Bacon Frittata

Vegetable and Bacon Frittata

Well, it’s almost the weekend!  Now that I have been working for a whole week, I feel like I kind of understand the whole TGIF thing.  I am definitely not a morning person and so this week, my breakfast has basically revolved around cereal and oatmeal.  So this weekend, I am looking forward to breaking out the eggs and having a real breakfast.  I made this frittata a couple of weeks ago but due to various things keeping me very busy, I have been terribly negligent about posting.  I won’t take up too much of your time but I will tell you that this was definitely a fantastic breakfast and would make a great breakfast over the long weekend!

Veggie and Bacon FrittataThe Elements:
2 green onions (white parts, chopped)
2 cloves of garlic, diced
2 slices of bacon, chopped into small bites
2 yellow squashes, sliced thinly and then into quarters
1 small potato
1/2 tomato, chopped/diced
4 eggs

 

Procedure:
Drizzle a pan with a little olive oil and saute all of the vegetables until tender (except tomatoes…which technically speaking are a fruit so the directions of only sauteing vegetables is totally legit).
While sauteing the vegetables, cook the bacon in a separate skillet.
Once vegetables are tender and bacon is cooked, mix them together and add in the tomato.  Add salt and pepper to taste.
Place vegetables in a cast iron skillet (I put a little cooking spray on the skillet before adding the vegetables).
Preheat the oven to “Broil” and then cook the egg/vegetable mixture stovetop over medium heat for approximately 4-5 minutes.  Then transfer the skillet to the broiler and broil, uncovered for about 3-5 minutes.
At this point you could slide the frittata out of the skillet and onto a plate or just take it directly from the skillet by the slice, like me :)

Veggie and Bacon FrittataThe Verdict:
Delicious and filling breakfast!  I actually had two slices because it was so tasty and stayed full for a pretty long time!  You could make this frittata with basically any vegetables you have in your fridge and you could also add cheese.  I went cheese-less because I wanted it to be healthier (I know, I used bacon, but whatever, sorry I’m not sorry, it was delicious).  If you make this, let me know how it goes for you!  I would love to hear about it!

Footnote:
I passed the bar!  I WILL be making some champagne cupcakes, as promised… so don’t worry too much!  Ok now make this and tell me how it goes!

Weigh in as the Jury

