Wild Rice, Squash & Feta Stuffed Pepper

Wild Rice, Squash and Feta Stuffed PepperHey everyone!  It has been over a week since I have last posted and I’m getting a little antsy.  I am, however, crazy swamped with the Bar Exam being about a week and a half away! This is scary but also exciting because at least it will be over!  Because the exam is so close, though, this will be my last post until after it is over…at which point I will probably post some ridiculous cocktails, as that is what I will *thoroughly* be enjoying once this insanity is over.

So for those of you who follow me on Twitter or Facebook, you are probably aware that I get fresh local produce delivered from this great local business called Go Local Produce.  I am a HUGE fan.  One of the best parts is that it is always a surprise as to what you will be getting (unless you cheat and look at the website but I like to be surprised!)  Here are a few of the goodies I’ve received from them:

So today I received a variety of goodies, most of which were picked less than 48 hours ago! Can you say FRESH?  That’s what I thought… incredible.  Among other things, I had an enormous red pepper, an onion, tomatoes, squash, and Anaheim Peppers, which I had never heard of or tasted.  The obvious choice to me was to make a stuffed pepper.  I started with a recipe provided by Smitten Kitchen and then altered it to make it my own!  I hope you try this… you will thank me for it…trust me.  Feel free to use a non-microwavable rice…I’m just on a time budget here with the test (I also did not have time to edit images, so apologies for that as well)

1874165The Elements:
1 large red pepper, with membrane and seeds removed, top cut off
1/2 tomato, chopped
1/2 yellow squash, thinly sliced, then quarter those slices
1/2 Anaheim pepper, sliced into thin rings (with membrane and seeds removed)
1/4 (little less) white onion, finely chopped
1 garlic clove, diced
4 leaves of basil, chopped
1/2 tbsp. tomato paste
Approx. 2 tbsp. olive oil
1/2 lemon
1 bag of microwaveable whole grain rice (I used chicken flavor by Uncle Ben)
3-4 tbsp. feta cheese

4513426Procedure:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Prepare baking dish by spraying with non-stick spray (I used an Olive Oil spray).
Boil a large pot of water and boil the red pepper for 5 minutes.
While bringing water to a boil, heat olive oil in a large pan (I didn’t measure, just drizzled then pan).
While boiling the red pepper, saute the onion, squash, Anaheim pepper, and garlic in olive oil over medium heat.Season the vegetables with salt and pepper while sautéing.
With about a minute to go, heat rice in microwave (if not microwaving rice, prepare rice before making everything else)

836195

When the pepper is finished boiling, turn upside down on a paper towel to drain.  At this point, add the tomato and tomato paste to the vegetables and mix in.  Add in the rice, feta, and basil and mix in.  Then squeeze 1/2 lemon juice over mixture.  Mix again.
Stuff pepper with the rice mixture and place in oven for 15 minutes.  Eat immediately.

 

 

7988539The Verdict:
Absolutely delicious.  So satisfying and really simple to make.  I highly recommend this dish, as well as eating local produce and supporting local business!

9130168

Weigh in as the Jury

