Apple Crunch!

2861672

I know, I know…I have this horrible habit of making things that are supposed to be good for you (bananas, apples, etc.) terrible for you (by adding sugar, nutella etc.).  I hope you can forgive me.  This dish is another simple one that you can make on the fly as long as you have some fruit around and baking essentials in your pantry (e.g. sugar and flour).  I got this recipe from my friend, Karen, who made it for us one evening for dinner.  It was so delicious, I asked her to send me the recipe, and thankfully she did!  I have tweaked it just a little to incorporate my obsession for cinnamon.  Give this simple recipe a try next time you want a quick, easy to make dessert!

The Elements:
4-5 small apples (could use any fruit you want, I just had fresh apples from GoLocalProduce), cleaned and chopped
1 individual packaged cup of applesauce (I used cinnamon flavor)
1/2 cup oatmeal/oats (uncooked)
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup brown sugar (I used homemade brown sugar because I didn’t have any–I will explain how below)
Optional: 1/4 cup chopped nuts
1/8 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 stick of butter

1974517

Procedure:
Preheat the oven to 375
Cover the bottom of a pie dish with the chopped fruit
Pour the applesauce over the apples and mix together with hands
6997190

In a medium-sized bowl, mix the oats, flour, brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg (here is where you would add in nuts as well, I didn’t use any because I didn’t have any, and this recipe is designed to be flexible)
Melt the butter and then mix in to the oats mixture until it is all an even texture and color
Spread mixture on top of the apples
Cook for 20-30 minutes
Serve warm with vanilla gelato!

5435026

The Verdict:
Delicious!  Next time I would probably double the “crunch” layer so that there is more crunch per apples, but again, I am obsessed with cinnamon and sugar!  My apples still had a bit of a crunch to them and I cooked them for 25 minutes.  This is how I like them (more like a tart), but if you want your apples to be that mushy, soft texture you get in a lot of apple pies then cook for longer.  All in all, delicious dessert, which I made for a mid-afternoon snack…feel free to judge, I’m studying….I probably won’t make it to the gym today either.  Oops.

Weigh in as the Jury

